close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Author Talk - Dr Sarah Schulman and Gord Tulloch

2021-02-17 14:00:00 2021-02-17 15:00:00 America/Los_Angeles Author Talk - Dr Sarah Schulman and Gord Tulloch Branch - Virtual

Wednesday, February 17
2:00pm - 3:00pm

Add to Calendar 2021-02-17 14:00:00 2021-02-17 15:00:00 America/Los_Angeles Author Talk - Dr Sarah Schulman and Gord Tulloch We will host an author talk with Dr. Sarah Schulman and Gord Tulloch who wrote the book "The Trampoline Effect: Redesigning our Social Safety Nets". Branch - Virtual

We will host an author talk with Dr. Sarah Schulman and Gord Tulloch who wrote the book "The Trampoline Effect: Redesigning our Social Safety Nets".

This book addresses the challenges and shortfalls of our social welfare systems and how to reshape a giant ecosystem with engrained approaches, habitual reactions and vested interests. The authors suggest going small. They articulate a series of twelve strategies, or “stretches,” that will enable organizations to reach in new directions. Things like attending to beauty, purpose, and identity, and designing roles that activate community capacity and bridge people to it. The aggregate of those efforts across time and contexts, they argue, can lead to a gradual repurposing of the social safety net.

The talk will be live on Facebook - please like and follow our CoqLibrary page to watch the live author talk. 

For questions about this event, please email Ann at ajohannes@coqlibrary.ca

AGE GROUP: | All Ages |

EVENT TYPE: | Adult Program |

TAGS: | |

Branch - Virtual

ask@coqlibrary.ca
Phone: 604-554-7323

Hours
Mon, Mar 01 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Tue, Mar 02 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Wed, Mar 03 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Thu, Mar 04 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Fri, Mar 05 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Sat, Mar 06 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Sun, Mar 07 12:00AM to 11:45PM

About the library

Upcoming events

Fri, Mar 05, 1:00pm - 1:15pm

Mon, Mar 08, 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Registration is now closed

Mon, Mar 08, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Tue, Mar 09, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Registration is now closed

Tue, Mar 09, 10:30am - 11:00am

Tue, Mar 09, 4:00pm - 4:45pm

Wed, Mar 10, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Wed, Mar 10, 4:00pm - 4:45pm

Wed, Mar 10, 6:30pm - 7:15pm

Thu, Mar 11, 10:30am - 11:00am

Thu, Mar 11, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Thu, Mar 11, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Fri, Mar 12, 10:30am - 11:00am

Canceled
Fri, Mar 12, 1:00pm - 1:15pm

Sat, Mar 13, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
This event is full

Mon, Mar 15, 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Registration is now closed

Mon, Mar 15, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Tue, Mar 16, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Registration is now closed

Tue, Mar 16, 10:30am - 11:00am

Tue, Mar 16, 4:00pm - 4:45pm

Tue, Mar 16, 6:30pm - 7:00pm

Wed, Mar 17, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Wed, Mar 17, 4:00pm - 4:45pm

Wed, Mar 17, 6:30pm - 7:15pm

Thu, Mar 18, 10:30am - 11:00am

Fri, Mar 19, 1:00pm - 1:15pm

Mon, Mar 22, 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Registration is now closed

Tue, Mar 23, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Registration is now closed

Tue, Mar 23, 10:30am - 11:00am

Tue, Mar 23, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Mar 24, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Wed, Mar 24, 6:30pm - 7:15pm

Thu, Mar 25, 10:30am - 11:00am

Fri, Mar 26, 10:30am - 11:00am

Canceled
Fri, Mar 26, 1:00pm - 1:15pm

Sat, Mar 27, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
This event is full

Mon, Mar 29, 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Registration is now closed

Tue, Mar 30, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Registration is now closed

Tue, Mar 30, 4:00pm - 5:15pm

Wed, Mar 31, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Wed, Mar 31, 4:00pm - 5:15pm